Script Project: Screenwriting 101

We recently started learning how to write scripts in class. I was tasked with using what I have learned to re-write a scene from a film. The first scene that came into my mind was this from ‘Blade Runner 2049’ (2017), where the protagonist, K, is interviewed to test if he has developed any human emotions while on a mission. This scene is very ambiguous and atmospheric, using a poem from ‘Pale Fire’ by Vladimir Nabokov throughout the film as K’s ‘baseline’. I re-wrote the first 30 seconds (approx) of the video below.

Here attached is my rewriting of the scene, without looking at the actual script.

BR2049 baseline test script

After writing this I then looked at the actual script written by Hampton Fancher and Michael Green.

BR2049SCRIPT 1

BR2049SCRIPT 2.PNG

What I noticed is that the actual script uses far more description than I did, regardless of whether it actually made it into the film. It does more to set the scene or uses smart phrases to succinctly describe action. I also used ‘V.O.’ as in ‘voice over’ to describe audio that could not be seen, but I now realise that because the scene is taking place, just not shown, the correct abbreviation would be ‘O.S.’ as in ‘off screen’.

Leave a comment